No Fault Divorce – Oregon
Oregon is a no fault divorce state, meaning that the only issue we cite in the Petition for Dissolution (document that starts the divorce process with the court) is “irreconcilable differences”. Call during normal business hours (M-F 8:30am to 5:00pm) and speak with a highly rated Oregon Family Law Lawyer immediately.
Court Fees For Oregon Divorce
There are court fees for filing a divorce in Oregon. The filing fee is $279 for a Petitioner (The person starting the divorce process). The respondent (the person answering after being served with divorce documents) also must pay an identical $273 filing fee when they file a response.
Why Hire Us?
The Winning Edge – Have a Team Working For You
There are a lot of family law attorneys in Oregon, but we offer something that many other attorneys can’t.
Our entire family law team, including lawyers and paralegals, meet regularly to review our new clients’ cases and the important developments in ongoing cases. We discuss what different Judges are ordering for support and custody, analyze what the newest Court of Appeals decision may mean to your situation, and sometimes debate how to best deal with opposing counsel. Collaboration, second and third opinions, shared knowledge, brainstorming innovative solutions. It’s something not every attorney can offer.
You aren’t just hiring an attorney. You’re hiring a team.
Call 503-648-4777 to get your case on our next team meeting schedule.
Mandatory Parent Education Class – Custody / Parenting Time Mediation
For cases with minor children, each county in Oregon also has a mandatory parent education class that a parent must attend whether you are filing a divorce or custody case. The class requirements and fees vary dramatically from county to county and range from a one-day course to 4 classes taken over a 4-5 week period. For the most part, the fees to participate in the classes are not waivable. Each county also has a mediation program which parties are required to attend. The purpose of the mediation program is for the parties to attempt to come to a resolution regarding custody and parenting time in a neutral setting. The parties appear with a mediator through the county (without attorneys present) and there is no fee for this service.